Sunday, May 04, 2014

J.B. Holmes takes Wells Fargo title

6:15 p.m.

J.B. Holmes shot a final round 71 and -- despite bogeys on the 16th and 18th holes -- won the Wells Fargo Championship at Quail Hollow Club by one shot over Jim Furyk.

Holmes finished at 14-under par and won $1.242 million.

Furyk, who briefly tied Holmes for the lead and had the day's best round with a 7-under 65, finished one stroke ahead of Martin Flores, who shot an even-par 72. Jason Bohn was fourth at 11-under, Justin Rose fifth at 10 under. Charlotte-resident Brendon de Jonge and Kevin Kisner (who's from Aiken, S.C.) tied for sixth, five shots back.

Phil Mickelson struggled for much of the day and had a 4-over 76 to finish tied for 11th.

4:30 p.m.

Consecutive birdies on 10 and 11 have pulled J.B. Holmes into a two-shot lead at 15-under par. Time is running out on his pursuers. Jim Furyk, who eagled No. 15, is in with a 65, 13-under for the tournament, and is tied with Martin Flores, who is playing with Holmes.

Phil Mickelson is 2-over for the day and has dropped back to 9-under, tied for sixth.

2:45 p.m.

J.B. Holmes leads Phil Mickelson by one stroke early in both their rounds Sunday. Homes is 1 over (with a bogey on No. 2), while Mickelson has parred all six holes he's played. Holmes is at 12-under for the tournament, Mickelson is at 11-under, while four others -- Jason Bohn, Justin Rose, Kevin Kisner and Martin Flores -- are tied for third at 10-under.

Flores, who started one stroke behind Holmes, had consecutive bogeys on 3 and 4.

1 p.m.

Rory Sabbatini has worked his way up the leader board at the Wells Fargo Championship and is now 5-under for the day through 10 holes, 8-under for the tournament and just five strokes behind leader J.B. Holmes.

Sabbatini isn't the only one who's playing well among the day's early starters. Kevin Chappell is 7-under for the day through 10 and trails Holmes by six. Ryan Moore had a 30 on the front nine and is 7-under for the day. He's 6-under for the tournament.

Holmes and Martin Flores tee off at 1:40 p.m., right after Phil Mickelson and Kevin Kisner (of Aiken, S.C.) at 1:30.